CIVIL SOCIETY COORDINATION AT PREPCOM2
  THEMATIC WORKING GROUPS
 
 
  Since Prepcom 2, Civil Society Coordination has been based on two sets of structures:

Procedural questions are dealt with by the Civil Society Bureau, which is based on a network of more than 20 "families", each being composed of groups and organisations from a certain section of civil society. The main task of the Bureau is to facilitate civil society participation in the WSIS process.

Content-related and thematic contributions by civil society are developed within the thematic caucuses and content groups. Each group is drafting a statement on issues which they feel should be included in the WSISdebates. They come together in the Civil Society Subgroup on Content and Themes, where common statements are drafted and thematic input into the negotiations is coordinated.See below for a list of content groups, as they operated at Prepcom 2.


 
 
 

Click on the links to find working documents and more information on the groups.

Drafting Group for the Common Statements of Civil Society
Contact: Sally Burch,
sburch@alainet.org and William J. McIver, Jr., mciver@albany.edu

Value and Ethics
Contact: Bernadette Allen,
bernadette_allen2002@yahoo.com

Communication Rights
Contact:
Myriam Horngren, mh@wacc.org.uk

Information Security
Contact: Karen Banks, karenb@gn.apc.org

Human Rights
Contact: Meryem Marzouki,
marzouki@ras.eu.org

Education, Academia and Research
Contact: Beatriz Busaniche,
beatriz@maxmedia.com.ar

Evironmental Sustainability
Contact: Thomas Ruddy,
thomruddy@yahoo.com

Youth
Contact: Nick Moraitis,
nick@takingitglobal.org

Network and Coalition (formerly "Social Movements")
Contact: Sean O Siochru, sean@nexus.ie

Media
Contact: Ronald Koven, rkoven@compuserve.com, and Tracey Naughton, broadcasting@misa.org

Community Media
Contact: WilnaW. Quarmyne, wilnaq@yahoo.co.uk

Intellectual Property
Contact: Sen Siochrú: sean@nexus.ie; Oh, Byoungil, antiropy@jinbo.net, Olga Drossou,
drossou@boell.de

Internet Governance
Contact: Wolfgang Kleinwächter,
bkleinwaechter@web.de

For info on more caucuses and working groups, check http://www.wsis-cs.org/content.htm

 


 

 
 
return

 
 
 
Worldsummit2005.org

About this website
Privacy Policy

from WSIS 2003...


WSIS I, Geneva 12/2003
Official and inofficial outcomes  
 

...to WSIS 2005

official WSIS site
WSIS-online.net
UN NGLS site

HBF publications on WSIS:
Visions in Process I (pdf)
Visions in Process II (pdf, 4 KB)

WSIS II Events:
International | German
PrepCom1, June 2004
PrepCom2, February 2005
PrepCom3, September 2005
PrepCom3a, Oct/Nov 2005
WSIS Summit, November 2005

WSIS II Issues:
Financing for ICT4D
Internet Governance
Stocktaking
Implementation
 

Civil Society @ WSIS

Structure and Working Groups

joint Civil Society Documents

German NGO Coordination

Contact and News

German Civil Society activities 

Charter of Civil Rights for a Sustainable  Knowledge Society

pdf: deutsch | english 
       francais | espanol arabic
rtf:   deutsch | english
       francais | espanol arabic
On the Way Towards the Charter